“What-what-what?!” to quote Kyle Broflovski’s Mom. An apt quote for this bit of news: Tascam is releasing a new MiniDisc recorder. You heard right, MiniDiscs, those little things that looked like bad ass floppy disks. Even though blank MiniDiscs are no longer produced, Tascam is releasing an all new unit to record them on. Probably the best investment Tascam could make during a recession since really weird decisions always yield success in Bizarro world. Oh wait, this is the real world.

Here is Tascam’s official press release:

TASCAM UPDATES MINIDISC RECORDER TO MD-02B

New Model Keeps MiniDisc Going for Broadcasters and ContractorsMontebello, CA (October 9, 2009): TASCAM is revamping its MiniDisc recorder to the MD-02B, the industry’s only choice for MiniDisc recording. The recorder features XLR balanced and RCA unbalanced analog inputs and outputs, as well as coaxial and optical digital ins and outs. It records to MiniDisc at ATRAC3 compression, and a disc can switch between Stereo, Mono, LP2 and LP4 modes.

TASCAM’s MD-02B improves on the MD-350 by adding optical digital connection, increased program play memory and automatic track increment by time or level. Fade in and fade out is also now available while recording. Edit modes include divide, combine, erase, move and title.

Also available from TASCAM is the MD-CD1, a combination Minidisc recorder and CD player.

This is where a blogger might start railing the old format and laughing at Tascam for this move. Well not me. I have to admit that I did not expect anyone to ever invest money in this tech besides me and a few audiophiles on Sony Insider who just can’t let go (myself included!). As you see in the press release, it appears to now be a format geared towards broadcasters and contractors. Do broadcasters really still use MiniDisc? I could imagine that being true 5 years ago or so when solid state recorders weren’t so expensive but wouldn’t a computer be suitable device? I mean, have you seen computers? They do a lot of stuff now-a-days. You also have plenty of portable solid state options out there too. Both of which will cost far less when you consider what they offer. This perplexes me a bit. My reasons for sticking with MiniDisc are less than rational. Can someone offer me a rational reason as to why and how this new MiniDisc unit works mechanically and financially for broadcasters?

Forgive my ignorance for this next question but who are these contractors? Contract killers? Are they into MiniDisc too? So only two kinds of people in this world use MiniDisc: audio geeks and ninja assassins. okay…that makes me feel a little cooler I guess.

Anyway, this news has got me scratching my head. That being said I think I’m going to post some fun MiniDisc tutorials soon.

See you then!

